WCSD RESOLUTION NO. 2014-1 A RESOLUTION OF THE WESTHAVEN COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT AUTHORIZING THE ADOPTION OF THE HUMBOLDT OPERATIONAL AREA HAZARDS MITIGATION PLAN

WHEREAS, all of Humboldt County has exposure to natural hazards that increase the risk to life, property, environment and the County's economy; and

WHEREAS, pro-active mitigation of known hazards before a disaster event can reduce or eliminate long-term risk to life and property; and

WHEREAS, The Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (Public Law 106-390) established new requirements for pre and post disaster hazard mitigation programs; and

WHEREAS, a coalition of Humboldt County, Cities and Special Purpose Districts with like planning objectives has been formed to pool resources and create consistent mitigation strategies within the Humboldt Operational Area; and

WHEREAS, the coalition has completed a planning process that engages the public, assesses the risk and vulnerability to the impacts of natural hazards, develops a mitigation strategy consistent with a set of uniform goals and objectives, and creates a plan for implementing, evaluating and revising this strategy.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the WESTHAVEN COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT

- 1.) Adopts in its entirety Volume I and Part 1, the Westhaven Community Services District jurisdictional annex of Part 3, and the Appendices of Volume II of the Humboldt Operational Area Hazard Mitigation Plan (Hazard Plan).
- 2.) Will use the adopted and approved portions of the Hazard Plan to guide pre and post disaster mitigation of the hazards identified.
- 3.) Will coordinate the strategies identified in the Hazard Plan with other planning programs and mechanisms under its jurisdictional authority.
- 4.) Will continue its support of the Steering Committee and continue to participate in the Coalition Partnership as described by the Hazard Plan.
- 5.) Will help to promote and support the mitigation successes of all Hazard Plan Coalition Partners.

PASSED AND ADOPTED on this Fifteenth day of January, 2014, by the following vote:

AYES: NOES: ABSENT: ABSTAIN:	Verick, Hankin, Moon, Phipps None Smith None		
ATTEST:	Sarah Jordan, Secretary	Gregory Smith, President	